5a9c6582 sbruno Jan. 18, 2017, 2:23 p.m.
Reported by:	hps
cgit ViewVC
70e316da sbruno Jan. 18, 2017, 1:57 p.m.
Submitted by:	Matt Macy <mmacy@nextbsd.org>
cgit ViewVC
f3e7afe2 hselasky Jan. 18, 2017, 1:31 p.m.
- Add RATELIMIT kernel configuration keyword which must be set to
enable the new functionality.

- Add support for hardware driven, Receive Side Scaling, RSS aware, rate
limited sendqueues and expose the functionality through the already
established SO_MAX_PACING_RATE setsockopt(). The API support rates in
the range from 1 to 4Gbytes/s which are suitable for regular TCP and
UDP streams. The setsockopt(2) manual page has been updated.

- Add rate limit function callback API to "struct ifnet" which supports
the following operations: if_snd_tag_alloc(), if_snd_tag_modify(),
if_snd_tag_query() and if_snd_tag_free().

- Add support to ifconfig to view, set and clear the IFCAP_TXRTLMT
flag, which tells if a network driver supports rate limiting or not.

- This patch also adds support for rate limiting through VLAN and LAGG
intermediate network devices.

- How rate limiting works:

1) The userspace application calls setsockopt() after accepting or
making a new connection to set the rate which is then stored in the
socket structure in the kernel. Later on when packets are transmitted
a check is made in the transmit path for rate changes. A rate change
implies a non-blocking ifp->if_snd_tag_alloc() call will be made to the
destination network interface, which then sets up a custom sendqueue
with the given rate limitation parameter. A "struct m_snd_tag" pointer is
returned which serves as a "snd_tag" hint in the m_pkthdr for the
subsequently transmitted mbufs.

2) When the network driver sees the "m->m_pkthdr.snd_tag" different
from NULL, it will move the packets into a designated rate limited sendqueue
given by the snd_tag pointer. It is up to the individual drivers how the rate
limited traffic will be rate limited.

3) Route changes are detected by the NIC drivers in the ifp->if_transmit()
routine when the ifnet pointer in the incoming snd_tag mismatches the
one of the network interface. The network adapter frees the mbuf and
returns EAGAIN which causes the ip_output() to release and clear the send
tag. Upon next ip_output() a new "snd_tag" will be tried allocated.

4) When the PCB is detached the custom sendqueue will be released by a
non-blocking ifp->if_snd_tag_free() call to the currently bound network
interface.

Reviewed by:		wblock (manpages), adrian, gallatin, scottl (network)
Differential Revision:	https://reviews.freebsd.org/D3687
Sponsored by:		Mellanox Technologies
MFC after:		3 months
cgit ViewVC
ae691723 andrew Jan. 18, 2017, 1:27 p.m.
the fifth argument to functions being traced, however there was an error
where the userspace stack was being used. This may be invalid leading to
a kernel panic if this address is unmapped.

Submitted by:	Graeme Jenkinson <graeme.jenkinson@cl.cam.ac.uk>
MFC after:	1 week
Differential Revision:	https://reviews.freebsd.org/D9229
cgit ViewVC
44219714 ngie Jan. 18, 2017, 9:46 a.m.
This fixes the build with !(amd64|arm64|mips*)
cgit ViewVC
9c1cd3f5 tsoome Jan. 18, 2017, 8:18 a.m.
As the efi_devpath_last_node() and efi_devpath_trim() can return NULL
pointers, the consumers of this API should check the the NULL pointers.

Same for efinet_dev_init() using calloc().

Reported by:	Robert Mustacchi <rm@joyent.com>
Reviewed by:	jhb, allanjude
Approved by:	allanjude (mentor)
Differential Revision:	https://reviews.freebsd.org/D9203
cgit ViewVC
5f761d3c ngie Jan. 18, 2017, 5:36 a.m.
35905afa ngie Jan. 18, 2017, 5:32 a.m.
Nothing much to note -- this looks like a good place to stop
cgit ViewVC
18e367f4 jhibbits Jan. 18, 2017, 3:42 a.m.
Clang apparently requires the explicit form of this instruction, and rejects
uses which ignore the optional cmpD register.  This was the only use of the
shorthand form of the instruction, so just fix it up to match the others.

PR:		kern/215681
Submitted by:	Mark Millard
Reported by:	Mark Millard <markmi _AT_ dsl-only.net>
MFC after:	2 weeks
cgit ViewVC
ff2c4d3f np Jan. 18, 2017, 3:35 a.m.
the VNET.  This should have been in r311949.

MFC after:	2 days
cgit ViewVC
a0aacd37 behlendorf1 Jan. 17, 2017, 11:30 p.m.
Since zpool version 16, this limit is actually 8192 characters.
Additionally, this limit is actually 8192 bytes, as it supports UTF-8.

Authored by: Eli Rosenthal <eli.rosenthal@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Paul Dagnelie <pcd@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Yuri Pankov <yuri.pankov@nexenta.com>
Reviewed by: Igor Kozhukhov <ikozhukhov@gmail.com>
Reviewed by: Robert Mustacchi <rm@joyent.com>
Approved by: Richard Lowe <richlowe@richlowe.net>
Reviewed-by: Brian Behlendorf <behlendorf1@llnl.gov>
Ported-by: George Melikov <mail@gmelikov.ru>

OpenZFS-issue: https://www.illumos.org/issues/7257
OpenZFS-commit: https://github.com/openzfs/openzfs/commit/3bc7169
Closes #5608
cgit
7330fc57 behlendorf1 Jan. 17, 2017, 11:22 p.m.
Authored by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Alex Reece <alex@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Prakash Surya <prakash.surya@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Igor Kozhukhov <ikozhukhov@gmail.com>
Approved by: Robert Mustacchi <rm@joyent.com>
Reviewed-by: Brian Behlendorf <behlendorf1@llnl.gov>
Ported-by: George Melikov <mail@gmelikov.ru>

OpenZFS-issue: https://www.illumos.org/issues/7235
OpenZFS-commit: https://github.com/openzfs/openzfs/commit/bd56f80
Closes #5604
cgit
61ca48ff behlendorf1 Jan. 17, 2017, 11:18 p.m.
Authored by: Andriy Gapon <andriy.gapon@clusterhq.com>
Reviewed by: Matt Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Pavel Zakharov <pavel.zakharov@delphix.com>
Reviewed-by: Brian Behlendorf <behlendorf1@llnl.gov>
Ported-by: George Melikov <mail@gmelikov.ru>

OpenZFS-issue: https://www.illumos.org/issues/7256
OpenZFS-commit: https://github.com/openzfs/openzfs/commit/6ed18a8
Closes #5601
cgit
e88551d5 behlendorf1 Jan. 17, 2017, 10:52 p.m.
Authored by: Igor Kozhukhov ikozhukhov@gmail.com
Reviewed by: Igor Kozhukhov <ikozhukhov@gmail.com>
Reviewed by: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Dan Kimmel <dan.kimmel@delphix.com>
Approved by: Robert Mustacchi <rm@joyent.com>
Reviewed-by: Brian Behlendorf <behlendorf1@llnl.gov>
Ported-by: George Melikov <mail@gmelikov.ru>

OpenZFS-issue: https://www.illumos.org/issues/7071
OpenZFS-commit: https://github.com/openzfs/openzfs/commit/25f7d99
Closes #5597
cgit
cf7d1484 behlendorf1 Jan. 17, 2017, 10:49 p.m.
Authored by: Igor Kozhukhov <ikozhukhov@gmail.com>
Reviewed by: Dan Kimmel <dan.kimmel@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Igor Kozhukhov <ikozhukhov@gmail.com>
Approved by: Dan McDonald <danmcd@omniti.com>
Reviewed-by: Brian Behlendorf <behlendorf1@llnl.gov>
Reviewed-by: Giuseppe Di Natale <dinatale2@llnl.gov>
Ported-by: George Melikov <mail@gmelikov.ru>

OpenZFS-issue: https://www.illumos.org/issues/7082
OpenZFS-commit: https://github.com/openzfs/openzfs/commit/10e67aa
Closes #5596
cgit